How to Find out If Someone Has Car Insurance
Posted on May 1, 2020 in Car Accidents California law makes it mandatary for all drivers to carry at least $ 15,000 in person bodily injury insurance, $ 30,000 in full accident bodily injury indemnity and $ 5,000 in property damage indebtedness indemnity. Auto insurance provides proof of fiscal duty – establishing a driver ’ s ability to pay for an at-fault car accident. unfortunately, hundreds of drivers in California drive without insurance. A collision with an uninsured driver could make it more difficult to obtain compensation for your damages, but a Los Angeles personal injury lawyer can help. Your first gear footprint toward recovery is often finding out if the early driver has insurance .
Ask While at the Scene
One of the easiest ways to ascertain a driver ’ s insurance data is to ask the owner of the vehicle for it directly while calm at the scenery of the car accident. Regardless of mistake for the collision, it is common for both drivers to ask for the insurance data of the other. California Vehicle Code 20002 makes it mandatary for all drivers involved in a crash to stop as near to the scene as safely possible and switch over information with the other driver .
While the law does not require drivers to show proofread of indemnity to the early driver, most drivers will offer this information freely upon request. Ask to see the other driver ’ second insurance card. Write down the information on it or take a photograph of the wag. If the other driver refuses to show you proof of indemnity, do not press him or her for this information. The patrol can obtain insurance information on your behalf alternatively.
Call the Police
Any car accident that results in personal injuries, fatalities or at least $ 1,000 in place damages requires immediate police reporting from the scene of the crash in California. Calling the police can help you as a crash victim by officially documenting key facts such as the other driver ’ second name, contact number and policy information. The early driver will legally have to show proof of policy to responding patrol officers. If the other driver does not have indemnity, the patrol can issue a citation to prevent the driver from continuing to drive while uninsured.
It is important to call the police after a hit-and-run accident in California. If you can, write down the license plate numeral and a description of the fomite that struck you. Give this information to the police to help them track down the perpetrator. The police can run a search on the license plate count to give you the at-fault driver ’ s indemnity data. The patrol can besides help you find out if the at-fault driver has enough car policy to cover your damages .
Visit the Department of Motor Vehicles
If you did not obtain the other driver ’ s insurance information at the scene and do not call the police for aid, the following step is to visit your county ’ s Department of Motor Vehicles ( DMV ). Your local DMV office may give you the early driver ’ s policy information if you have a valid reason, such as being the victim of a hit-and-run car accident. Contact your local DMV to see if it has the other driver ’ s insurance data on file. You will need to give the office what information you have about the at-fault driver, a well as the cause for your request .
Call the Insurance Company
If you only have partial information about the driver ’ second policy, such as the name of the indemnity company but not a policy phone number, you might be able to call his or her insurance company for more details. The driver ’ second policy company could give you more information about coverage limits and whether you can obtain the damages owed. You may be able to file a claim with the early driver ’ s indemnity provider flush if the other driver disappears or refuses to answer your symmetry. If you hush need more aid finding out if person has cable car insurance or getting the insurance company to pay, hire a car accident lawyer in Los Angeles .