What is a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22)
A Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate ( SR-22 ) is required by the Texas Transportation Code Chapter 601 to verify that you are maintaining motive fomite liability indemnity. A SR-22 can be issued by most policy providers and certifies that you have the minimum liability policy as required by police. An indemnity provider will automatically notify the Department when a SR-22 is cancelled, terminated or lapses .
Minimum Liability Amounts
The minimal indebtedness coverage amounts required by law are :
- $30,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in one crash,
- $60,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in one crash, and
- $25,000 for damage to or destruction of property of others in one crash.
For more information on minimum indebtedness indemnity laws, please visit the Texas Department of Insurance .
Financial Responsibility, Conviction or Judgment
If your driving prerogative has been suspended due to a car crash, you have received a second or subsequent conviction for No Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance* or a civil judgment has been filed against you, you are required to file a SR-22 with the Department. You are required to maintain coverage for two years beginning from the date of the conviction that requires a SR-22, or in the case of a opinion against you ascribable to a crash, two years from the date the judgment was rendered. A SR-22 is besides required when a security depository is being placed with the Department as submission for a crash or crash default suspension.
An insurance card or policy will not be accepted in place of a SR-22.
Authorized Insurance Providers
You should contact your local anesthetic policy agent or supplier to obtain a SR-22. If you do not own a vehicle, you should ask an insurance provider about a Texas Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance policy .
Cancelled, Terminated or Lapsed SR-22
Your driving privilege and vehicle adjustment may be suspended if :
- You are required to file and maintain a valid SR-22 and you do not have one on file with the Department, or
- The Department receives notification that the SR-22 on file has been cancelled, terminated or lapsed, and a new SR-22 has not been filed prior to the cancellation of the original policy.
Driver License Reinstatement Requirements
To reinstate your driver license you must :
- Submit a valid SR-22 to the Department, and
- Pay the required $100 Reinstatement fee prior to the renewal or issuance of your driver license, in addition to paying any other outstanding fees owed.
*If you are convicted of a irregular or subsequent violation for No Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance but had indemnity on the fomite at the fourth dimension of the umbrage, you may submit your proof of policy and the SR-22 prerequisite will be waived.
Read more: Instant payments: get fast money transfers
For information on submitting submission and fees to the Department, visit the Reinstating your Driver License or Driving Privilege web page .
Driver Eligibility Status
To check the status of your driver license or to determine if you are eligible for reinstatement, visit the License Eligibility web page. This page will provide you with information on what you will need to reinstate your driver license or driving prerogative, including any fees you may owe. once all conformity items have been processed and your suspension time period has ended, your driver eligibility status will be updated to reflect “ eligible ” .
For more data on SR-22 ( Proof of Financial Responsibility ), please visit the Frequently Asked Questions web page or download the Driver License Enforcement Actions chart for a complete list of driver license suspensions and revocations .